Since becoming a mission of St. Joseph Church in 1924, Sacred Heart of Jesus has been a vital part of Baton Rouge.
In 1928, Sacred Heart of Jesus became a canonical parish. In 1929 Sacred Heart of Jesus School became the first parochial school in our city. The Sisters of St. Joseph staffed the new school and are still involved in teaching at the school at the present time.
Countless numbers have been affected by the community of Sacred Heart; from the many who have received a solid Catholic education to the over 900 families who make up today’s faithful parishioners, Sacred Heart remains serving and supporting our Catholic Christian experience.
In May of 1942, the doors of a magnificent new church were opened for the parishioners of Sacred Heart. The building remains a monument to the generosity of the parishioners and friends of the parish who worked so hard to leave a legacy for future generations. Fr. Dominic Blasco patterned the church after the Cathedral in his hometown of Cefalu, Sicily. Filled with priceless artwork, the church building is an imposing structure combining Byzantine and Roman architecture. Fr. Dom Gregory deWit’s larger-than-life murals still impress and inspire visitors today.